So I finally made it to the hardware store to get the supplies for my card…Yes, you heard right. I had to go to the hardware store.

This week’s Try a New Technique Challenge TLC438 at Splitcoast Stampers was hosted by my fellow Bacon Bit, the wildly creative and brilliant… Jane France. Her challenge was to create a card using foil tape and drywall tape for starters… See her card called Foiled Again to see what I was up against (haha!)

Using the tutorial from the challenge sight, I came up with a pretty fun base that I almost hated to cover; however, I specifically used those chipboard arrows (Dies from PTI) under the foil  to go with my Hambo image – Elevator Set. It made for a fun card for a friend in need of a pick me up.

Hambo Elevator

I definitely think I will need to try the technique again, and I will likely try something else with that image cause I really like it!

I used Copics to color my image. The colors look crazy bright in the picture, but I think that’s because they were bouncing off the foil. I printed an extra copy of the “thingy” that tells you what floor you’re on and the plant, cut them out, and popped them up for some added dimension. I printed my sentiment on velum (that I have had for so long it looks kind of yellow – can velum go bad??). I didn’t add anything else because I decided to let the background carry the card.

Not sure I love this one but I sure do like it a lot!!

I also going to enter this card into the following challenges:

  • Inspired By – Challenge 84 ( The colors the inspiration and the similar textures go along with those suit cases – Need a lift could be about travel if it weren’t an encouragement card)
  • Crafting By Designs – Anything Goes with Simply Betty
  • Shopping Our Stash – Challenge 110: Strangest/Weirdest Craft Supply Purchase (I specifically went to the hardware store for the foil tape and drywall tape, then I pulled out my metal stamps –  I am supposed to use these for jewelry. I absolutely had to have these immediately upon seeing them and yet I have never used them until I used them on a card haha!)

That’s all! Thanks for stopping by!

Lyn

Woo Hoo! I made the Top Three at Shopping Our Stash!!

IMadeTop3-SOS-badge-150x