Reader TagHappy Wednesday! It is time for another Hambo Hoedown! This week’s challenge is to use an image and come up with your own sentiment.

H Reader spotThis week’s image from Hambo, free to those who participated last week, is “Reading Boy”.

My sister is a first grade teacher and is responsible for teaching her kids to read so this image reminds me of her. I used a sentiment that also reminds me of her… she is a B-I-G fan of the Doctor, Dr. Seuss that is, so I used a Seussy sentiment. “Oh, The places you’ll go!”

To make the background, I used a map/globe stamp that I have had for so long that I am not actually sure what the brand is (it is unmounted rubber with no label.) I liked the idea of having it in the background because it went with my sentiment. To soften it, I covered it with tissue paper and the “faux silk” technique from Splitcoast Stampers. I used “Dream Text” by Stampendous on the tissue paper (to represent “reading”.)

Hambo Reading BoyI used Pure Poppy and True Black cardstock from PTI for a base and for color contrasts. I punched my sentiment out with a Label punch from EK Success and used an oval punch (SU) cut in half, some red eyelets, and red and white twine to finish off my sentiment.

I colored my “reading boy” with Copic markers, cut him out and popped him up on the card with dimensionals.

It turned out pretty cute, and now that it is finished, I think it will make a great graduation card – of which I just found out that I have a need!

I am going to enter this card into the following challenges:

Thanks for stopping by!

Lyn