Hambo NerdWhat is that… right? I hadn’t planned to do a card tonight, but then I saw this week’s “Try a New Technique Challenge” at SCS – TLC429 to use the Bokeh Effect on a card. As a technique junkie, I HAD to try it and it is a pretty cool technique!

I had never heard of Bokeh before – It is actually a photography technique that is a blur or an out of focus area of the image. For our challenge, we were to mimic this effect by stamping off. Unbelievable, but with a little sponging and stamping off, we can get a really neat background or main image!!! Here are some directions with pictures for the “visually brained” (of which I count myself!!)

I used Crushed Curry Cardstock (SU) for my base, and White (PTI) to stamp on. I used some cling rubber stamps from G-Studios that I have been hording for quite a while and chose, Wasabi, Crushed Curry and Passion Pink SU Inks for my Bokeh effect.

With Copics, I colored up a new digital image from Hambo called Nerd (and a cuter one there has never been!!). It comes with some cute sentiments but I wanted a Birthday card, so I used Good Stuff (4226) a rubber stamp from Hambo. I inked the sentiment directly onto the card then I fussy cut my little guy and popped him up on the card.

I really like this technique and will definitely try it again!

I will enter this card into the following challenges:

Thanks for stopping by!!

Lyn