HambobeeDid you ever make a card that while you were putting it together, you were loving it already? Then when it was finished, it just made you smile everytime you looked at it? This card does that for me. I can not explain why, but I just love it!

This week at the Hambo Hoedown, we were challenged with adding our favorite embellishment. I realized that I like a lot of embellishments (I added a brad and twine) but my favorite?? Well, I am always looking for a way to add an interactive element. I just love adding them to cards as an extra surprise for the recipient!

When I saw this, a Zoetrope card,  in the “Weekly Inkling” from Splitcoast Stampers, I knew it had to go on my to-do list. What’s a Zoetrope card you are asking yourself? It is a device that gives the illusion of motion when you turn it. This tutorial only had to wait in my inbox for six weeks before the right stamp set and inspiration came together. In this case the little bees take flight. I am like a child – I keep wanting to pull the tab that says “pull”. Ughh – you know that Alice ended up down the rabbit hole for that very same reason… [CLICK HERE to see the card in motion]

I used elements fowpid-Photo-Jan-24-2013-1054-PMr a couple of challenges to bring this card together. Designed to Color has a monthly challenge and this month they challenged us to use hexagons – well duh! Bees-Bee Hives – Honey Combs – Hexagons! That worked out. I also used a sketch from Delightful Inspiration {from the heart} – Sketch Number 10. I did take liberties with it so I hope it counts…

My biggest surprise came from my new Hambo stamp set. It is one of their new clear stamp sets – Tree Hive [HLC022]. They worked beautifully! When I first got the set, I couldn’t wait to play with the fantastic tree hive image that comes with it. But then, alas, I fell in love with the little bee stamp and I just keep coming up with ways to use him. I created a quick CAS card with him, I used him as a tag on the back of my card with my name stamp, he just keeps buzzing in my head. Now when I get to the hive, it will be like new all over again!

Supplies:

  • Stamps: Hambo CLear Stamps Tree Hive [HLC022]
  • Paper: Papertrey Ink White and Harvest Sunset and Recollections Black
  • Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black and Copics YR12, Y17, C1, black fine Sharpie pen (for bee’s path)
  • Additional Supplies: Spellbinders Circle and Inverted Circle Die, Cuttlebug Honey Comb Embossing Folder
  • Other Stuff used to make the Zoetrope move: Black Brad from Doodlebug Designs, Twine, Stampin’ Up 1/2″ circle punch and window punch (to create my pull tag – which was computer generated); craft foam and transparency sheet, Piercing Tool

Note: The tutorial called for the inner pieces of the Stampin up Shaker frames for the center circle (Behind the image that you wrap the twine around). I didn’t have any but I had a sheet of yellow craft foam. So I cut two small circles out with my Spellbinders circle dies, ran them through my Xron machine and stuck them together – it worked!

I found a couple of other Challenges that this card was perfect for and I just couldn’t resist…

  • Creative Creations Challenges – #6 The letter B – (This card has lots of Bees hahaha!!)
  • Paper Playtime – #6 Use a Bee – (Again I say…this card has lots of Bees:~)

Thanks for stopping by!

Lyn