Side Badge - Heather EllisHow exciting is this! It is Tuesday and time for a Tip Top Tuesday Challenge. I am SO, SO honored to be a Guest Designer for two challenges this month!

Today’s challenge is PAPER PIECING. The sponsor this time around is Heather Ellis. She has some of the sweetest images I’ve seen, but see for yourself!! My image is Pure Innocence 026 (A sweet little nurse).

For today’s card, I used some absolutely awesome digi papers called Desmond that I got from Sassy Designs.  I shrunk the pink stripes down so that it fit with my little nurses dress and I used a few others in a 5.25″X4″ size. I love these papers – they were so much fun! I backed everything in a chocolate brown cardstock and mounted them on a piece of Vintage cream cardstock from Papertrey Ink.Heather Ellis TTT

I used DP for her dress, but also cut out the little white pinafore, the clipboard and her arms and head and pieced them in place so that the pieces would be even. I cut out her cap one more time so it would be “on top” of her head and used her legs from main image so they would “be under” her dress. So in case you weren’t counting, that was 3 images printed up and colored to some degree; then cut and pasted (kind of like paper dolls I think??) I don’t paper piece often but this was a fun challenge.

I colored my image with Copics [Crosses, heart, and stripe in cap:R24,R27, R29; Shading in whites – C0, C1; Bag, shoes and clip on board: C5, C7, C9; hair and clipboard:E33, E35, E37, E39; Skin: E00 E11, E21, R20; I used the “Stipple Shadow” technique to give the image some fun dimension: R37, E70, E74, E79.]

Today’s Tip: When paper piecing, digi paper is often a great choice (especially if you have fun patterned paper). You can print out paper that has a larger pattern at regular size (to use on card layout), then shrink it down to a size that best fits your image; thus, allowing you to tie the image together with the card.

In my card I used a coordinating digi set. The paper choice I used for my nurse matched up with all my background papers so I wasn’t digging through my stash trying to find papers that coordinated and had a small enough print to fit in that small space…. Head on over to Tip Top Tuesday and join in the Challenge!

Challenges:

  • Oldie but a Goodie – Spots and Stripes (I bought that digi pack LAST June and just pulled it out for the first time – now I am in love!!)
  • Sweet Stampin’ Challenge – Spots & Stripes

Thanks for stopping by!

Lyn