When I got this month’s new My Savior stamp set from Sweet N Sassy Stamps, I couldn’t wait to color the image. I wanted to put into my Bible and journal it, but I am a little chicken to ink up my Bible pages directly… So I “cheated”. As I have done before when faced with this predicament, I inked it up on deli paper. (not the shiny waxy side).snssbjo-my-savior-aThen I colored it with my Polychromos colored pencils (really any colored pencils will work, I just love how these let me layer and shade.) I decided I wanted to color his robes in gray tones so the Earth would pop out a bit more.snssbjo-my-savior-b

Then I fussy cut it out and tried to plan out my page.

snssbjo-my-savior-c

I used clear gesso on my page, brushed on a light layer of distress ink for the grass and the sky, inked my words and glued the image down with a very thin coat of YES glue on a paint brush.
snssbjo-my-savior-copyThis image is holding the Earth shaped like a heart and is carrying a cross reminding me of his sacrifice for me. My verse is 1 John 4:9-10 and it tells me that God loves me so much he sent his only Son to be my Savior, My Friend, My Redeemer – I am so blessed to be loved SO MUCH! The rest of the verse reminds us that if God can love us so much, we can do no less than to love one another. That is something to think on this week (and every week actually).

1 John 4:9-10 (ESV)

In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. 10 In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a blessed day!

lyn

