Happy Monday! I hope you had a wonderful weekend and a Blessed Easter, full of family and fellowship.

They say that Spring is about new things, so today I tried something new. I tried a new coloring technique – colored pencils, and I decided I was ready to try a Bible journal page. WOW! It took a while to get the vision in my mind to sort of match up with what went in my Bible. I just knew that I wanted to use the Old Rugged Cross image and John 11:25 and the rest was supposed to magically fall in place.

As many of you may fully understand and (feel as well), I didn’t love my handwriting enough to want to put in my Bible. I mean have you seen some of the wonderful calligraphy style writing people are journaling in their Bibles? They are beautiful and “worthy” of a Bible where as I didn’t think mine was.

I watched a few tutorials and decided that while I may one day be able to write in a modern calligraphy style, today is not that day; however, I may be able to doctor my handwriting with leaves and swirls enough to “fake it”. I practiced, and practiced, and practiced a good deal more, and finally was ready to put ink to paper. Keep in mind that if you are looking for perfection, just don’t try this 🙂 cause little things will happen. Your ink may smudge a bit (mine did), the page behind it may show the outline of the words you wrote (mine did), you may bend the adjacent page while try to contort yourself to be able to write in the right hand column (I did),  if you water color, your paper may pucker (i tried it a little on the green and… you guessed it, mine did). BUT when you are finished with it and you see what all that time spent in your Bible and you see the Glory of God on the page, it looks…PERFECT!

I am so glad I created this page. I am so blessed to know that by believing in Him, I shall LIVE! I challenge you to try a page of your own. Speaking of challenges, today starts a new sketch challenge at From the Heart Stamps.

Sketch145

I used the sketch (loosley) in my journaling. I flipped the sketch (mirrored) – I hope it counts. I also used the tWist and sponged on Gelatos. Then I hand wrote the verse, and colored the Old Rugged Cross with Polychromos Colored pencil before fussy cutting and adhering into my Bible with Matte Gel Medium.

FTHS Old Rugged Cross copy

Note: I have seen a lot of people selling images that they give permission to trace into your Bible. Keep in mind that isn’t something that is just naturally allowed in most instances because of copyrights – I printed my image as Faith created it and it worked just fine!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

Lyn

 

