OK, I am a day late posting my Sunshine Mail Foundation Challenge Project but I have a great reason! I had to do my first Sunday Showcase at Designed to Color and I thought the showcase would be perfect with my Sunshine Mail card.

Just Floating Girl Sunshine JuneThe Sunshine Mail Challenge theme is “SMILES” – something that makes us smile!! Our sponsor this month is Just Some Lines. Her stuff is a sure thing to garner a smile!!

My Showcase today is using alcohol inks to create a fun background for your projects. You can use your Copic refills for this technique and coordinate it with your colored image (if you do one), or you can use other alcohol inks such as Adirondack or a homemade version (the recipe is in the tutorial). It is impossible to mess up and it’s lots of fun to see how the background turns out (never the same way twice) and it truly adds something to your project!

You can see the tutorial here – sorry it is a little shaky but this was my first try at doing this – practice makes perfect right? I will note the use for the hand sanitizer – it adds some blending and when it hits the wet ink, it resists it leaving lighter shades in the shape of your “tool”.

I used a cute little image from Just Some Lines called “Just Floating Girl”, added a rubber stamp Sun [3420] from Hambo Stamps and a sentiment from Stampin’Up – “Smile” (ah ha the theme!!) Finally, I added some tie-dyed ribbon and it looks like a fun summertime, tie-dyed party! Woo hoo!!

Now I am off to mail my card into Sunshine Mail Foundation – that is the only way to qualify to win the challenge and a prize from Just Some Lines!

Sunshine Mail sends happy mail, but not necessarily holiday mail so no holiday specific cards. It is such a wonderful organization! AND if you want to get involved other ways, just go to Sunshine Mail Foundation and learn more! Come on!! Join the fun!!

Thanks for stopping by!

Lyn

PS – YAY and Woo hoo!! I won this challenge at Just Some Lines!JSL-Sat-ChWinner

