When I was younger (and truthfully even now), my mom would say to me “Lyn, watch what you wish for, or you just might get it!”

I was also constantly saying “I can’t wait until I’m [insert appropriate age for whatever was important at the time].” Good grief do I regret that!

This Hambo stamp – “Grown up” reminds me of the silliness of those childhood wishes…Wishing you were older eventually does happen. Unfortunately, however, it doesn’t work in the reverse!

I originally thought I would use this Hambo “fractured funny” sentiment stamp with one of my great Hambo images (and hey! I still might), but I saw another card that inspired me to do something clean and simple and let the image speak for itself – I think it does that, don’t you?

I have a friend with a birthday coming up and I think this will be perfect for her. It speaks to getting older as more of a team effort (it mentions we, not you) and it does so in a funny way, without reminding her of exactly how many candles we are talking about – right??

Now for the best part…the inside. Are you ready? Are you sure? Have I built it up so much that you are now likely to be disappointed? Hmmm. Well, here goes……

“Wow, were we stupid or what?!”AMEN and AMEN!!

I won a 3 month subscription to Really Reasonable Ribbon for one of cards for SCS Hope You Can Cling To (2012) challenges. And then, all of a sudden, I stopped using ribbon for a while. I knew I was going to use ribbon for this one and I was sooo happy to be able to pull out my December set of RRR and find the PERFECT ribbon for my card.

In the words of John “Hannibal” Smith from the A-team (I have never denied I was a geek!!)…”I love it when a plan comes together!”

Supplies for this card:

  1. Stamp: “Grown Up” [0810] – Rubber Stamp by Hambo Stamps
  2. Paper:
    • Hawaiian Shores – Papertrey Ink
    • Royal Velvet – Papertrey Ink
    • DP Part Candles – The Paper Studio
    • Glossy White Cardstock
  3. Ink: Tuxedo Black – Memento
  4. Other Supplies:
    • Ribbon – Really Reasonable Ribbon (December Set)
    • Rectangle Die – Spellbinders
    • Deckled rectangle Die – Spellbinders

I hope you love this like I do and I hope that no matter your age you enjoy all your birthdays and celebrate them – because to do so, celebrates you!!

I am going to enter this card into thefollowing challenges:

Thanks for stopping by!

Lyn

