This week’s Hambo Hoedown Challenge (#89) is to use NEON…

The image we got, free for playing in last week’s challenge, is called “Cactus”. This prickly little guy is a fun, simple image to color and he works great with any type of card; from CAS to interactive like I so often choose to do. Hmmm…I think I may do him again later on a slider card.

For today’s card, I decided to make a criss-cross card. These are very easy and quick and look great! [Instructions for this technique are at the bottom of the post!]

To start off, I grabbed up every piece of bright/fluorescent cardstock, designer paper, and ribbon I had, then picked out my bright Copics (FV04, YG03, Y08) and coordinated everything around these things – and let me tell you, while it may look bright and cheery in the pictures – you need sun glasses to see it in real life – I LOVE IT!!!

I couldn’t decide which sentiment I wanted to use on this card so I made two inserts that I could decide on later!

Supplies for this card:

  1. Stamp: “Cactus” Digital image by Hambo Stamps
  2. Paper:
    • Bright Green “Textured Cardstock” by Recollections
    • DP from Citrus Stack DCWV
    • Raspberry Fizz from Papertrey Ink
    • Express-it blender paper
  3. Ink: Copic Markers
  4. Other Supplies:
    • Bright Yellow-Green Ribbon from stash
    • Rectangle die cut from Spellbinders
    • Deckled Rectangle die cut from Spellbinders
    • Chunky Brad – Limeade – Doddlebug designs
    • Circle Tab Punch – Stampin’ Up
    • Eyelets

I am also going to enter this into the following challenges:

[Instructions – I hope these are easy to follow but please let me know if you have questions!]

  1. Take your card base (11”x 4.25”) and score in half.
  2. Open it up and cut from the top center (at the score line) to the bottom right corner (this triangle will be flipped and used for the other side of the card.)
  3. Close the card – the uncut piece is the back and the attached right side triangle is the “criss”.  Flip the cut triangle piece to make the “cross” (red represents the cut piece)
  4. Decorate the two triangle pieces before adhering anything – If you have a two-sided DP, you can cut it 4 X 5.25, cut in half diagonally, from left top to right bottom, and use the two pieces for a coordinated look)
  5. Using 1/8” score tape on the cut piece, adhere the left side, the bottom, and the piece of the edge that touches the folded over triangle (BLUE represents the score tape.)
  6. This creates the pocket for your card
  7. NOW, put on the stamped image, and other decorative pieces (I used a ribbon, but you could create a belly band, use a strip of paper, or whatever you can think of…)
  8. Next, creat a note card to put into the pocket. Mine is a piece of cardstock 4”X 5” with a piece of white 3.75”X 4.75” mounted on top.
  9. Use your choice of a “pull” – I used a punch tab with an eyelet that I strung ribbon through.

VOILA – you are done!

Thanks for stopping by! ‘Til next time!

Lyn

