This week’s challenge at the Hambo Hoedown (#87) was to use circles! Provided, free to those who participated in last week’s challenge, was “Cells”. They are smiley, cheerful little cells going on about their business; and the sentiments are hi-larious. I chose “Greetings and Cell Mutations”… get it? (mama sometimes tells me it’s not a joke if I have to explain it…hmmm)

I decided to go for a fun interactive card. I have gotten into these a lot lately (which is good considering the die cuts and tools to create some of the more fun interactive card have been sitting “on the shelf” for much too long!)

I punched out circles of various sizes and glued them to my piece of base cardstock (4 1/8″ X 5 3/8″.) For the interactive piece, I used my Stampin’ Up Word Window Punch and cut out two connecting slots – this will be the “track” for the spinner. Then I ran it through a “circles” embossing folder (circles?…check!)

In order to keep my little guys from colliding head on, I ran a smaller circle through the embossing folder, and glued it on to the card base, deliberately putting it “in the way” of the slot (mid-way down the track). I lined it up with the other circles on the card and fitted it in so it would naturally look like it went through on the first round.

Then I created the “spinner device”…NOW this is a super technical technique – are you ready?

  • From thin coaster board (mine is from Papertrey ink, but if you don’t have any, double the recipe and use a thick cardstock), punch out two 3/4″ circles and three 1/4″ circle’s.
  • Glue the small circles together and the large circles on either side, making a “sandwich”. Sometimes it is easier to go ahead and put the opened slot of the card between the two larger circles while making the sandwich (so you don’t have to fit it through later on.)
  • Attach the image to the circle that is on the front side of your card. Attach the base card to this piece of paper with foam tape – the space between the two pieces should allow it to spin.

Notes: For a regular spinner card, I would use only two 1/4″ circles for the spinner, but I had added another layer of cardstock with the circles and I wanted to make sure that it would clear it and spin. Originally I was going to have two separate slots for the cells to spin independently; however, doing one longer one and creating a barrier, took up a little less space on the card and it looked neater. Finally, punch the slots before running it through the embossing folder so it will be easier and less bulky for the punch to fit around…

If you have any questions, PLEASE let me know! I’d be happy to help!! Have fun and I’d love to see what you come up with – lots of images are great for spinners!

I am also entering this card into:

Supplies for this card:

  1. Stamp: “Cells” Digital Stamp by Hambo Stamps
  2. Paper:
    • True Black – Paper Trey Ink
    • Pure Poppy – Paper Trey Ink
    • White – Wasau
  3. Ink: Copic Markers
  4. Other Supplies:
    • Circle punched (1/4″ to 1 3/4″) EK Success, Creative Memories and Stampin’ Up
    • Window Punch – Stampin’ Up
    • Coaster board – Paper Trey Ink
    • Circles Embossing Folder – Darice

Thanks for stopping by! ‘Til next time!!

Lyn

