This week’s Hambo Hoedown (#79) was to use a wood grain somewhere in the card. They provided a lighthouse image with a choice of sentiments to work with. As with all of their challenges, this was free to those who participated last week.

I have been holding the Splitcoast Stampers tutorial about telescoping images in my email inbox for the right time to try it out. The lighthouse stamp seemed like a good starter for this technique. It is a fun technique and the results look pretty good (in real life it lines up exactly – I think the picture angle makes it look a little off.) I will note that the tutorial suggests you use repositionable tape to hold down your dies. I didn’t have any so I used an old trick… scotch tape stuck to my shirt before going down on the paper to prevent tears when you pull it up.

I used my wood grain embossing folder on my back ground paper to add the wood grain piece of the challenge, and for fun put a little sand dollar brad on my sentiment punch (I have had these for a while. I needed them at the time of course but haven’t done anything nautical since I got them so they were never used. This challenge was beachy enough so now the package is opened. Yay!!)

Simple supply list this time:

  1. Stamp: Lighthouse digital image by Hambo Stamps
  2. Paper: Red, Black, and White, By Recollections
  3. Ink:
    • Copic Markers
    • Stampin’ Up Bashful Blue (For the sky)
  4. Other Supplies
    • Spellbinders Dies – Labels Eight
    • Stampin’ Up Large Oval Punch
    • Stampin’ Up Oval Scallop Punch
    • Ribbon
    • Sand Dollar brad

Thanks for stopping by! ‘Til next time!

Lyn

