This week’s challenge at the Hambo Hoedown (#78) was to use a KNOT somewhere in my card. The image provided, free to those who participated in last week’s challenge, was a cute snake. (I know that isn’t necessarily how you’d describe a snake but look at him!) As usual the sentiments provided with the image are part of what make it sooo cute! I chose “What’s shakin?” and decided to try my hand at a ‘shaker’ card. I have also been wanting to try an easel card, so today was the day to try two new techniques. I’ll admit it was touch and go for a while, especially on the “shaker” element, but in the end it came together.

For the easel, I reached into my ever-growing pile of cool, but alas as of yet unused, tools and grabbed my QuicKutz cutting dies. The nesting flower has some great wonky circles that I thought would be kind of fun for this card. (note: The wonky nature of the circles did result in the need to trim the easel part of the card just a little.)

For my ‘shaker’, I blew up the rattle portion of the snake and traced it onto a piece of acetate. Then I printed it out on card stock and colored it to match the snake. I used small black pop dots, cut into sections, and put them around the outline of the acetate rattle. I punched a small hole into the cardstock and attached it to the other side of the pop dots. This made a little chamber. I poured microbeads into the hole then covered it up with a small piece of paper (colored to match) then glued it over the original rattle. Now when you shake the card – the snake rattles!

To tie the card together and wrap back around to the challenge, I added French embroidery knots to my sentiment tab (which I put on the inside of the card to hold it open… Whew! Challenge is right!!

I’m going to enter into the PinkGem Challenge too – #53 Teddy or Animal

Supplies for this card:

  1. Stamp: “Rattler” digital image by Hambo Stamps
  2. Paper:
    • Chocolate Linen Textured cardstock by The Paper Company
    • Turquoise Cardstock by Recollections
    • White cardstock by Recollections
  3. Ink: Copic Markers – E37, E29, YG03, YG45, YG63, B00, B02, B06
  4. Other Supplies:
    • Acetate
    • Stampin’ Up large oval punch
    • Stampin’ Up scallop oval punch
    • QuicKutz Cutting Dies – Nesting Flower (3 outside “circles”)
    • Glitter glue
    • Martha Stewart Luster Glass Microbeads – Peridot

Directions for the easel card were from Splitcoast Stampers Resources.

Directions for the shaker card – I am not sure where I first saw it, but I did this one from memory and tried to explain it as detailed as possible above. Feel free to ask questions in the comment section and I will do what I can to help!

Thanks for stopping by! ‘Til next time!

Lyn

