For this week’s Hambo Hoedown Challenge (#76), we got to play tic-tac-toe with a cute “Octopus” digital stamp (free to those that played in last week’s challenge.)

The tic-tac-toe choices I made were down the middle…Blue, twine, and a charm.

I wanted to try a new technique I saw on Spiltcoast Stampers – I thought it looked like water (blue.) The technique – Copic Ink Background, as the name implies, called for Copic refill ink. I didn’t have any Copic refills, so I pulled out My Tim Holtz alcohol inks (I have not really used them before now so yeah!) As luck would have it, I didn’t have any blue, so I decided to try to make my own from a recipe I found online. (It’s at the bottom of this post if you’re interested.) I was having an adventure already and I was only working on the background paper!

I made my card a small square card (4¼ X4¼) then made a cute envelope to finish it off! The envelope allowed me to pull out a paper crimper I have only used one other time to test it – my personal challenge is going well! Two previously unused “tools” put into action (alcohol inks and a crimper.)

The supplies for this card are:

  1. Stamps:
  2. Paper:
    • Glossy Card stock
    • Recollections turquoise cardstock
    • Stampin’ Up Lucky Limeade cardstock
    • Glossy inked up background
  3. Inks:
    • Copic Markers
    • Tim Holtz Alcohol Ink in Stream and Lettuce
    • Made by me alcohol ink in Blue
    • Memento Ink in Paris Dusk, Summer Sky, Danube Blue, Pear Tart
  4. Die Cuts:
    • Stampin’ Up Tag punches (large and extra large)
    • Stampin’ Up large oval punch
    • Stampin’ Up Oval Scallop punch
    • Stampin’ Up Scallop edger
  5. Other Tools:
    • Marvy Paper crimper
    • Ink Daubers
  6. Embellishments:
    • Spiral paper clip
    • Copper heart charm
    • Martha Stewart Living sticker gems (not sure what these are – the label was gone)
    • Twine

Card Instructions:

  • Glossy cardstock cut at 8 ½”  X 4 ¼” inches and scored in half.
  • I layered with a colored card stock ( ¼” smaller on each side than the card) then cut my Alcohol inks treated paper to 4”X 4″
  • It’s ready to decorate.

Envelope instructions:

  • Envelope sized 4¾” X 6½”
  • Seal the envelope.
  • Using ink daubers and daub random blues and a green to fill both sides of the envelope.
  • Cut 1¾” off the length – save this to use as a “lid” to your envelope.
  • Run the large piece of the envelope through the crimper making sure the crimps are perpendicular to the opening(see diagram.) This will make the envelope body a little smaller so the “lid” will slide over it.
  • Decorate the top piece or not, your choice!

Homemade Alcohol Ink:

  • ¼ Cup Alcohol ( from the drug store – 91%)
  • 1 tsp.+ (to your desired color) Rit powder dye
  • Put in a bottle and shake – be careful it can be messy!

Thanks for stopping by! ‘Til next time!

P.S. –  WOW! I am so excited to once again have been selected for this card/envelope set as the “Best in Show” at the Hambo Hoedown Challenge!

